Dean’s Statement

Dean’s Statement

On behalf of the entire staff and students of the Faculty of Agriculture, University of Nigeria, I am indeed delighted to welcome you to the Faculty of Agriculture’s webpage. The Faculty of Agriculture was one of the first faculties that started officially on October 17, 1960 then under the Faculty of Sciences. It became a full-fledged faculty in 1961, with Professors Kirk Patrick Lewton and Kenyon T. Payne both of Michigan State University (MSU) as the first and second Deans respectively. The third and first indigenous Dean of the Faculty was Professor Bede Nwoye Okigbo also from MSU.

The current Dean of the Faculty of Agriculture is Professor Ngozi Mercy Nnam, a Professor of Community and Public Health Nutrition and a member of the University Senate and SERVICOM. As the Dean, she is the Chairman of the Faculty Academic Board, Appraisal/Selection Committee and other ad-hoc committees of the Faculty. She represents the Faculty at the University Appraisals Committee (UAC), Appointment and Promotions Committees (Academic and Senior Administrative and Technical Staff) and Senate Development Committee.

The Dean is assisted in the administration of the Faculty by the Associate Dean, Professor B.C. Echezona, a Professor of Economic Enthomology. Some committees were set up to help the Dean effectively coordinate the activities in the Faculty.

The Faculty has seven departments and a Farm Operations Unit. The departments and their heads are:

  1. Agricultural Economics – Prof. S.A.N.D. Chidebelu
  2. Agricultural Extension – Dr. (Mrs.) M.U. Dimelu
  3. Animal Science – Prof. A.G. Ezekwe
  4. Crop Science – Prof. B.C. Echezona
  5. Food Science and Technology- Prof. T.M. Okonkwo
  6. Home Science, Nutrition and Dietetics – Prof. (Mrs.) E.K. Ngwu
  7. Soil Science – Dr. (Mrs.) I.M. Uzoh and
  8. Farm Operations Unit – Mr. Chika Abacha

The Faculty has an academic staff strength of about 115 with students’ enrollment of about 2000. The Faculty has strong and robust graduate and undergraduate programmes in all departments.

The Faculty has a students’ body known as Nigerian Association of Agricultural Students (NAAS) with Dr. F.U. Agbo as the staff advicer and Comrade Asogwa Victor as the President.

The Faculty is currently collaborating with agencies like West Africa Agricultural Productivity Programme (WAAPP-NIGERIA) and the Tertiary Education Trust Fund (TET-FUND) in her efforts to ensure that Agriculture takes its proper position as the driver of economic and national development.

The Faculty is ready to partner/collaborate with any group, agency and private sector as the government alone cannot fund and provide facilities and infrastructures needed to move agriculture forward.

On this note, I once more welcome you to the Faculty’s webpage.