The Faculty of Agriculture, University of Nigeria, Nsukka was founded in October, 1960 as the first land Grant Faculty of Agriculture not only in Nigeria but in Africa. Founded at the wake of Nigerian independence, the Faculty of Agriculture was among the first set of Faculties of the University to start classes on 17th of October, 1960. This was barely 10 days after the formal opening of the university (7th October, 1960) by Her Royal Highness the Princess Alexandra of Kent who represented Queen Elizabeth II at the Nigerian independence celebrations.

The Faculty of Agriculture was founded with the assistance of the Michigan State University under the auspices of USAID (United States Agency for International Development) to be one of the leading centres of teaching and research in Agriculture in the continent of Africa. It was the first Faculty of Agriculture in Nigeria. The first Dean of the Faculty was Professor Payne of Michigan State University while Deans of the Faculty after him, their base Departments and Tenure were: Professor Bede Okiagbo (Crop Science, 1967-1973), Professor A.N.A. Modebe (Animal Science, 1973-1975), Professor D.M. Ekpete (Soil Science, 1975-1977), Professor Ikeme (Vet. Medicine, 1977-1979), Professor F.O.C. Ezedimma (Crop Science, 1979-1981), Professor P.O. Ngoddy (Food Science and Tech., 1987-1989), Professor W.O. Enwezor (Soil Science, 1989-1991), Professor T.O.C Ndubuizu (Crop Science, 1991 – 1993), Professor B.I. Orji (Animal Science, 1993 – 1995), Professor F.C. Obioha (Animal Science, 1995 – 1997), Professor R.O. Ogbuji (Crop Science, 1997 – 1999), Professor  I. U. Obi (Crop Science 1999 – 2000), Professor A.U. Okorie (Animal Science, 2000 – 2002) Professor J.S.C. Mbagwu (Soil Science, 2002 – 2004), Professor Ike Ikeme (Food Science & Technology, 2004 – 2006), Professor M.C. Madukwe (Agricultural Extension, 2006 – 2008), Professor C.A. Igwe (Soil Science, 2008 – 2010), Professor K. P. Baiyeri (Crop Science, 2010 – 2012), Professor S.O.C Ugwu (Animal Science, 2012 – 2014) Professor N.M. Nnam (Home Science, Nutrition and Dietetic 2014-Date). At the inception, the departments that made up the Faculty were Agricultural Economics, Animal Science, Plant/Soil Science, Home Economics, Veterinary Science and Agricultural Mechanization. Students specialized from the first year in any one of the areas.